The counties of Victoria were gazetted in stages between 1849 and 1871. There are 37 counties, roughly 64.5 x 64.5 kms (40 x 40 miles) in size, which are further divided into 2914 parishes. The parishes were subdivided into sections of various sizes for sale as farming allotments, or designated as a town and then divided into sections and these subdivided into crown allotments. The county has lost its relevance in modern Australia because it is based on the size of land rather than population.

Yarra Glen is located in the County of Evelyn.  This county extends from the Plenty River in the west to the upper Yarra River region in the east; from Narbethong in the north to Emerald in the south.