EVELYN (county)

There are 37 counties in Victoria. Evelyn was one of the first counties proclaimed in 1849 and it was surveyed by J. P. Taylor in 1856. Unlike counties in the United States and the United Kingdom, Victoria's counties have no administrative or political function. They exist purely as cadastral units: used for the purposes of identifying the location of any piece of land. The Victorian counties are further divided into 2914 parishes and townships.